About Us

Faculty, Staff, and Administration

Jonathan Alden

Head of School

jalden@nantucketnewschool.org
B.A., Denison University
M.Ed., Middle Tennessee State University
Year appointed: 2012
Teaching since: 1986

Valeria Alonzo

Spanish

valonzo@nantucketnewschool.org
Facultad de Medicina, Universidad de la República. Montevideo, Uruguay
Escuela de Nutrición, Universidad de la República. Montevideo, Uruguay
Year appointed: 2015
Teaching since: 2015

Tracy Bakalar

Development Assistant

tbakalar@nantucketnewschool.org
B.S., Syracuse University
Year appointed: 2013

Forest Bell

Upper School History and Humanities

fbell@nantucketnewschool.org
B.A., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
JD/MSEL, Vermont Law School
M.Ed., Fitchburg State University
Year appointed: 2014
Teaching since: 2011

Amanda Brodbeck

Director of Development

abrodbeck@nantucketnewschool.org
B.A. Lehigh University
Year appointed: 2013

Megan Solimeo

Kindergarten/ Head of Early School

mbrown@nantucketnewschool.org
B.A., Queens University, Canada
M.Ed., Queens University, Canada
Year appointed: 2010
Teaching since: 2006

Lori Corry

Business Manager

lcorry@nantucketnewschool.org
B.A., State University of New York, Albany
Year appointed: 2003

Anne Dyer

Head of Lower School

adyer@nantucketnewschool.org
A.B., Wheaton College
M.A., Manhattanville College
M.S.A., University of Notre Dame
Year appointed: 2007
Teaching since: 1960

Liz Feeley

Counselor

lfeeley@nantucketnewschool.org
B.A. Tulane University
M.S.W. San Diego State University
L.I.C.S.W. Mass.

Brenda Genthner

1st Grade

bgenthner@nantucketnewschool.org
B.S., Fitchburg State College
Year appointed: 2008
Teaching since: 1998

Chris Getoor

Director - Strong Wings Adventure School

cgetoor@strongwings.org
B.A., St. Joseph’s College
Year appointed: 2008
Teaching since: 2003

T.J. Grant

P.E. Teacher/Strong Wings Adventure School

tjgrant@strongwings.org
Year appointed: 2016
Teaching since: 2010

Alicia Graziadei

5th/6th Grade Humanities

agraziadei@nantucketnewschool.org
B.S., Boston University
Year appointed: 2012
Teaching since: 2009

Naomi Harnishfeger

Pre-school

nharnishfeger@nantucketnewschool.org
A.A., Cape Cod Community College
Year appointed: 2009
Teaching since: 2002

Liz Hillger

Lower School Assistant Teacher

lhillger@nantucketnewschool.org
B.S., University of Wisconsin, Madison
M.S., University of Pennsylvania
Year appointed: 2008
Teaching since: 2008

Alyson Herrick

Kindergarten

alanagan@nantucketnewschool.org
B.S., Northeastern University
Year appointed: 2010
Teaching since: 2009

Allison Johnson

1st Grade

ajohnson@nantucketnewschool.org
Year appointed: 2015
Teaching since: 1994

Matt Liddle

Head of Upper School/ 7th-8th grade STEM

mliddle@nantucketnewschool.org
B.S., State University of New York, Plattsburgh
Year appointed: 2007
Teaching since: 1989

Laura Moore

4th Grade

lmoore@nantucketnewschool.org
B.A., Clark University
Year appointed: 2010
Teaching since: 2010

Miguel Morocoima

Superman/Facilities Guru

Year appointed: 2010

Kate Olson

Administrative Assistant to the Head of School

admin@nantucketnewschool.org
B.A. Rollins College
Year appointed: 2016
Teaching since: 2016

Lisa Solomon

2nd Grade

lsolomon@nantucketnewschool.org
B.S., University of Colorado, Boulder
B.A., Hunter College
M.A., New York University, Steinhardt School of Education
Year appointed: 2007
Teaching since: 1985

Rachael Sullivan

5th/6th Grade STEM

rsullivan@nantucketnewschool.org
B.A., Colby College
Year appointed: 2010
Teaching since: 2005

Jake Vohs

Music

jvohs@nantucketnewschool.org
A.A., Illinois Central College
Music Composition, Illinois St. University
Year appointed: 2012
Teaching since: 1998

Claire Winship

Strong Wings Adventure School Asst. Program Director

cwinship@strongwings.org
BA., Warren Wilson College
Year appointed: 2012
Teaching since: 2012

Nantucket New School
15 Nobadeer Farm Road
Nantucket, MA 02554
5O8.228.8569
info@nantucketnewschool.org